The AudioBook Lifestyle

My new dream desk
–My new dream desk–

As an ongoing joke, I have been begging my boss for one of those Treadmill workstations. If only I had one, I could actually SIT down after work and relax–read a REAL book, the kind you purchase at a book store or order from Amazon !

In my off work hours I also have to make my rounds on the ‘net, so I am challenged with balancing my need for information, tasks, (like banking, shopping) and my need for community. Yes, I do all this in the real world and more… but I prefer the Internet for such tasks, because I tend to get much more of those activities done.

Music is vital also, and  I find that I like to at least supplement listening to music with some intellectually stimulating material so I am working out both your body AND your mind.

REAL books-those three dimensional blocks of paper product where one can turn pages-could be a thing of the past someday for several reasons:

  • There are 6.6 billion people on earth, in 2050 there will be over 9 billion. The production of books uses up the world’s natural resources. The trend for books will be to go digital through listening devices or tools like the Kindle 2.
  • This year more information will be generated than in the previous 5,000 years and the amount of technical information is doubling every 2 years. By 2100 it’s predicted to double every 72 hours. We can keep on top of this information and ‘read’ more books per year by multitasking.  Listening to audio books while we are exercising, driving , doing chores, will be a way to keep us informed and entertained.
  • The percentage of the world’s population with access to the Internet has increased 250% since 2000. Technology is pervasive and will continue to permeate all countries, cultures, classes of people (just think of the One Laptop per Child inititave).

Audiobook fitness is really about LIFESTYLE, and keeping physically active AND keeping an active mind. How can we continue to enjoy books in this age of information? Our future  promises a more hectic life, and we will have to find ways to continue to entertain and enrich our lives with business books,  literature and best sellers by listening to AudioBooks.

So, what have you listened to this week?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

