Archive for May 16th, 2009

Five Days of Short Stories

May 16, 2009

At a company event I won an iPod shuffle and decided  to experiment downloading short stories to my new device. Since I am a fan of NPR’s Selected Shorts and the website Sniplits.com, where you can download a free story a week, I was looking for a change of pace from my usual non-fiction fare.

At  Sniplits.com, I paid $2.06 with my PayPal account and downloaded three stories to iTunes and from there to my iPod Shuffle.  One story was the free story of the week. Sniplits.com has done a GREAT job of making the purchase and download easy, the process was seamless. Then I downloaded a few shows from  Public Radio’s (PRI) broadcasts of “Selected Shorts podcast that I located in iTunes. Here’s my upcoming listening schedule, not necessarily in the  order I’ll hear them at since I expect the stories to be shuffled:

SESSION A*, 30 MINUTE WALK

  • Story: A Brief Excerpt in the History of Salt by Venita Blackburn
  • Story: Hand Signals by Venita Blackburn

SESSION B*, 40 MINUTE WALK

  • Story: House Rules By Libby Fischer Hellmann

SESSION C, 1 HOUR WALK

  • Podcast: Playwright’s DelightSelected Shorts

SESSION D, 1 HOUR WALK

  • Podcast: Indian CountrySelected Shorts

SESSION E, 1 HOUR WALK

  • Podcast: Shatterd PeaceSelected ShortLOGOwebhorz

I will begin listening to stories on Monday, May 18! Send me your tips for this upcoming week. Oh, and watch next weekend for the upcoming reviews on the all above mentioned stories/podcasts!

* These downloads are from www.sniplits.com